School Governing Body

Mrs Susan Fletcher is Chair of Governors and can be contacted at:

Anyone with an interest in the school can become a Governor - there are no special qualifications. If you would like to know more, please contact the School Office.


  • Jane Gascoigne


  • Wendy Gander


  • Claire Morrish
  • Sarah Knedel


  • John Beaver
  • Catherine Winchcombe (Safeguarding)
  • Jerram Bird
  • Susan Fletcher (Chair)


  • Steve Hooper-Smith
  • Andy Percey

Jane Gascoigne (Headteacher)


Mrs Gascoigne started her teaching career in 1989 and has been Headteacher at Combe Down CEVC Primary School since January 2018 following almost ten years at St Julian’s Wellow, alongside Camerton (2010) and Shoscombe (2012) Church Schools as part of Church Valley Schools Federation. Prior to this Jane was Deputy Head at St Stephen’s CEVA Primary School in Bath having moved from Cheshire in 2004. Whilst in Cheshire Jane taught in three other schools.

Jane is committed to providing a caring, supportive and exciting learning environment in which children and staff can do as well as they can in all areas.

Mrs Gascoigne has a science background. She enjoys music, singing, gardening and is a committed member of her local church. Jane is married with two children.

Susan Fletcher - (Chair)

Co-opted Governor - Link Governor for PE and Art, Design & Technology

Susan joined the governing body as a parent governor in September 2016 and is now a co-opted governor.  Her two sons enjoyed their time at Combe Down and have now moved on to secondary school.

Susan has worked in communications and community engagement for over 20 years with charity, local government and public sector organisations.  She specialises in working with organisations with social purpose to tell their story and connect with their audiences.  She is a member of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations and a board trustee of The 401 Foundation charity. 

In her spare time, Susan can be found running in Rainbow Woods (she's a qualified run leader) or curled up with a good book!

Claire Morrish

Foundation Governor - Link Governor for RE, Humanities and PHSE

Claire joined the governing body in December 2012 as a Foundation Governor, having been a faithful member of the parents Friday School Prayer Group.

Since August 2016 she has been the Children’s Minister at Holy Trinity and St Andrews Community Church.

Claire is married to John and they have 3 sons, all of whom have now moved on to Ralph Allen School. Claire was a secondary school science teacher and also worked as a  lecturer in Science Education at Bath Spa University, where she was part of the PGCE secondary course team. This involves many visits to local secondary schools to support the training of teachers and gives her a working knowledge of many aspects of education and school life.

I have a passion to work as a governor to support all that is fabulous about Combe Down School and shape its future development with a special focus on its Christian Values and Ethos.

Sarah Knedel

Foundation Governor - Link Governor for Modern Foreign Languages, Maths and Pupil Leadership Team (formerly School Council)

Sarah joined the governing body in September 2016 as a Foundation Governor and has one child at the school; her elder 2 have now moved on to Ralph Allen School. She works at the university in an administrative role and has a background in teaching modern languages.  Sarah has also been a member of Holy Trinity church for many years.

She is a keen linguist, and her hobbies include anything outdoors, singing and, when the British climate allows, paddle-boarding!

John Beaver

Community Governor - Link Governor for Computing & E-Safety

John joined the governing body as a Co-opted Governor in February 2018. He moved to Combe Down with his family in 2012 and his daughter is a pupil at the School. John is the Head of IT at the National Composites Centre having previously held senior technology roles at Bath Spa University, the University of Bath and, before moving to the South West, at the BBC in London.

Catherine Winchcombe

Community Governor

Catherine is a serving head in a local independent school. Prior to this, she worked overseas in Jordan holding both Primary and Secondary school posts. Alongside her school roles, she worked with the Syrian and Iraqi refugee community with her husband Simon. Before spending time abroad she was Deputy Head at a Church of England school in Surrey. Catherine has two grown-up daughters, lives locally in Combe Down and is a member of St Andrews Community Church in Foxhill. 

Jerram Bird

Community Governor

Jerram is a Commuity Governor who lives locally and knows a number of children and parents of the school. He joined the governing team in September 2018 and brings a number of skill sets, not least his strategic thinking and architectural expertise. 

Jerram is a father to two children, a husband of a teacher and works full time for an Architectural practice based in Bath. He is a member and regular attendee of Widcombe Baptist Church. In the past, he has served as trustee and employee of two large charities.  

Whenever time allows Jerram enjoys the outdoors by gardening, sailing or climbing. He can also often be found undertaking some sort of practical DIY task at home or church.

Steve Hooper-Smith

Parent Governor

Awaiting information

Andy Percey

Parent Governor

Andy joined the Governing Body as a Parent Governor in Autumn 2020.

He has a son who is a pupil in KS1 at Combe Down. Andy is the minister of Manvers Street Baptist Church and has been in pastoral ministry since 2006.

This involves a lot of work within the community which is close to his heart; whether with the homeless and other vulnerable groups, to parent and toddlers and young families. Andy has held several chaplaincy roles, serving hospices in London, Air Cadets in Sussex and part of the team at the University here in Bath. 

Andy is author of several books, and in his spare time enjoys walks with the family (and the dog), as well as coffee with friends and watching sport.

Wendy Gander (Staff Governor)

Awaiting information

Former Governors:

Stewart Holness 2021

Karen Eyre 2021

Ruth Balch 2021

Caroline O'Neill 2021

Laura Warner 2021

Helen D'Souza 2021

Dave Locke - Term Completed July 2018

Karen Coates - Stood Down 31.08.2017

Rev. Paul Kenchington - Stood Down 18.09.2017

Victoria Willis - Resigned 12.02.2017

Richard Bullard - Stood Down December 2017 (Former Headteacher)  

Vanessa Tilbury - Stood Down 31.12.2017

Kirsten Barnes - Stood Down December 2017


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now