Local Governance Committee

Mr William Challis is Chair of Governors and can be contacted at:

Anyone with an interest in the school can become a Governor - there are no special qualifications. If you would like to know more, please contact the School Office.


  • Jane Gascoigne and Jo Bird


  • Wendy Gander


  • Sarah Knedel and William Challis
Trust Appointed:
  • Jerram Bird and John Beaver


  • Tessa Armstrong
  • Catherine Winchcombe (Safeguarding)


  • Steve Hooper-Smith and Nicola Maguire

Jane Gascoigne (Headteacher)


Mrs Gascoigne started her teaching career in 1989 and has been Headteacher at Combe Down CEVC Primary School since January 2018 following almost ten years at St Julian’s Wellow, alongside Camerton (2010) and Shoscombe (2012) Church Schools as part of Church Valley Schools Federation. Prior to this Jane was Deputy Head at St Stephen’s CEVA Primary School in Bath having moved from Cheshire in 2004. Whilst in Cheshire Jane taught in three other schools.

Jane is committed to providing a caring, supportive and exciting learning environment in which children and staff can do as well as they can in all areas.

Mrs Gascoigne has a science background. She enjoys music, singing, gardening and is a committed member of her local church. Jane is married with two children.

Jerram Bird

Community Governor

Jerram is a Commuity Governor who lives locally and knows a number of children and parents of the school. He joined the governing team in September 2018 and brings a number of skill sets, not least his strategic thinking and architectural expertise. 

Jerram is a father to two children, a husband of a teacher and works full time for an Architectural practice based in Bath. He is a member and regular attendee of Widcombe Baptist Church. In the past, he has served as trustee and employee of two large charities.  

Whenever time allows Jerram enjoys the outdoors by gardening, sailing or climbing. He can also often be found undertaking some sort of practical DIY task at home or church.

Sarah Knedel

Foundation Governor - Link Governor for Modern Foreign Languages, Maths and Pupil Leadership Team (formerly School Council)

Sarah joined the governing body in September 2016 as a Foundation Governor and has one child at the school; her elder 2 have now moved on to Ralph Allen School. She works at the university in an administrative role and has a background in teaching modern languages.  Sarah has also been a member of Holy Trinity church for many years.

She is a keen linguist, and her hobbies include anything outdoors, singing and, when the British climate allows, paddle-boarding!

John Beaver

Community Governor - Link Governor for Computing & E-Safety

John joined the governing body as a Co-opted Governor in February 2018. He moved to Combe Down with his family in 2012 and his daughter is a pupil at the School. John is the Head of IT at the National Composites Centre having previously held senior technology roles at Bath Spa University, the University of Bath and, before moving to the South West, at the BBC in London.

Catherine Winchcombe

Community Governor

Catherine is a serving head in a local independent school. Prior to this, she worked overseas in Jordan holding both Primary and Secondary school posts. Alongside her school roles, she worked with the Syrian and Iraqi refugee community with her husband Simon. Before spending time abroad she was Deputy Head at a Church of England school in Surrey. Catherine has two grown-up daughters, lives locally in Combe Down and is a member of St Andrews Community Church in Foxhill. 

Steve Hooper-Smith

Parent Governor

Awaiting information

Wendy Gander (Staff Governor)

Awaiting information

Former Governors:

Andy Percey 2022

Susan Fletcher 2022

Claire Morrish 2022

Stewart Holness 2021

Karen Eyre 2021

Ruth Balch 2021

Caroline O'Neill 2021

Laura Warner 2021

Helen D'Souza 2021

Dave Locke - Term Completed July 2018

Karen Coates - Stood Down 31.08.2017

Rev. Paul Kenchington - Stood Down 18.09.2017

Victoria Willis - Resigned 12.02.2017

Richard Bullard - Stood Down December 2017 (Former Headteacher)  

Vanessa Tilbury - Stood Down 31.12.2017

Kirsten Barnes - Stood Down December 2017


Page Downloads Date  
CDP LGC Register of Interests 2023-24 02 Jan 2024 Download
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now